National and international nominations are being sought for the 2021 Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine, which honors a physician-scientist who has moved science forward with achievements notable for innovation, creativity, and the potential for clinical application.

The deadline for nominations is September 18, 2020.

Nomination guidelines can be found at

The Harrington Prize, which carries a $20,000 honorarium, is a collaboration between the Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland, Ohio­—part of The Harrington Project for Discovery & Development and the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), one of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies. The Harrington Discovery Institute is a nonprofit institute dedicated to supporting physician-scientists, and all scientists in areas of unmet therapeutic need, in their work to transform discoveries into medicines for the benefit of society.

Both organizations recognize the challenges associated with turning discoveries into medicines, and they are eager to highlight those who have navigated the path successfully or whose work has led to novel treatments.

A committee composed of members of the Harrington Discovery Institute Scientific Advisory Board and the ASCI Council will review the nominations and select the awardee. In addition to the honorarium, the 2021 recipient will deliver the Harrington Prize Lecture at the 2021 Joint Meeting of the Association of American Physicians (AAP), the ASCI, and the American Physician Scientists Association (APSA); will lecture at the 2021 Harrington Discovery Institute Symposium; and will publish a personal essay in the Journal of Clinical Investigation.

Previous award winners include Stuart H. Orkin, MD, Harvard Medical School, for his contributions to red blood cell biology (2020) and Carl H. June, MD, University of Pennsylvania, for advancing the clinical application of CAR T therapy for cancer treatment, and for his sustained contributions to the field of cellular immunology (2019). For more information, visit Harrington Prize Winners

For questions or more information about the nomination requirements, visit