The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) has named Joseph K.T. Lee, MD, as its new president for the 2010-2011 term. Lee is professor of radiology at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine in Chapel Hill, and holds several other positions.

Lee received his medical degree from Washington University School of Medicine (WUSM) in 1973, and completed his radiology residency at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, also at WUSM.

In addition to serving as president of the ARRS, Lee is a member of many professional societies and serves on the board of chancellors for the American College of Radiology (ACR).

In addition to Lee, the ARRS also announced that James A. Brink, MD, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT will serve as president-elect. Charles E. Kahn, Jr., MD, from Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, has been named vice president, and Melissa Rosado de Christenson, MD, Saint Lukes Hospital, Kansas City, MO, has been appointed secretary/treasurer.

In a separate press statement, the ARRS named three recipients of its 2010 ARRS Gold Medal Award. The three honorees are Philip O. Alderson, MD; Barry B. Goldberg, MD; and David E. Kuhl, MD.

(Source: Press Releases)