The Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) named Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., MD, MHS, FACR, Arl Van Moore Jr., MD, FACR, and Lawrence R. Muroff, MD, FACR, the 2023 Leadership Luminary Award recipients for their exceptional lifetime achievements, innovation, leadership and service to the medical specialties of radiology or radiation oncology. 

“Over their professional careers, Drs. Beauchamp, Moore and Muroff have demonstrated the highest level of leadership, bringing great distinction and honor to the field of radiology,” says Frank J. Lexa, MD, MBA, ACR Radiology Leadership Institute chief medical officer and vice chair. “Radiology has benefitted greatly from these extraordinary leaders and their remarkable achievements.”

Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., MD, MHS, FACR, is the executive vice president for Health Sciences at Michigan State University, from which he earned his medical degree. Beauchamp was previously chair of the radiology department and a professor of radiology, neurosurgery, and industrial engineering and systems design at the University of Washington (UW), where he also served as president of a 1,600-physician clinical practice employed by UW. He was the founding medical director of the Seattle/King County Clinic. 

Beauchamp has received numerous teaching and research awards and published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers. His research focuses on developing advanced MRI techniques to extend the acute ischemic stroke treatment window and identify stroke and dementia risk predictors. He is a past chair of the Radiology Research Alliance and the Coalition for Bioimaging Research. He has served on the ACR Board of Chancellors and as president of the American Roentgen Ray Society. He received the Gold Medal from the Washington State Radiological Society and the American Roentgen Ray Society.

Arl Van Moore Jr., MD, FACR, is former chair and CEO of Strategic Radiology and previous president and chair of Charlotte Radiology. Moore is a past chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors, the ACR Task Force on International Teleradiology and the ACR Task Force on Disaster Preparedness. He received the ACR Gold Medal in 2011 and has represented the ACR in the American Medical Association House of Delegates since 1996. 

Prior to earning his medical degree at the College of Medicine at the University of Arkansas School for Medical Sciences, Moore served as a nuclear engineer in the U.S. Navy Submarine Service. He has authored numerous scientific papers, book chapters and lectures about the importance of building strong teams committed to a common vision and the value of leveraging teams to solve problems.

Lawrence R. Muroff, MD, FACR, is immediate past CEO and president of Imaging Consultants, Inc., courtesy clinical professor of radiology at both the University of Florida and the University of South Florida Colleges of Medicine, and president emeritus of Educational Symposia, Inc. For 44 years, Muroff held major leadership roles in radiology societies, including the ACR. He received the ACR Gold Medal in 2013 and the Florida Radiological Society Gold Medal in 1995. 

A renowned speaker and educator, Muroff has presented more than 1,100 invited lectures in the United States and Europe regarding leadership, contracts, negotiations, and group governance. He has authored more than 80 scientific and socio-economic articles. Muroff is an honors graduate of Harvard Medical School and Dartmouth College.

The RLI Impact in Leadership Award recognizes individuals whose participation in an RLI course or program was integral to the successful completion of specific projects or initiatives at their practices or institutions.

The 2023 Impact in Leadership Award recipients are:

  • Ian A. Weissman, DO, FACR, Milwaukee VA Medical Center
  • Syed F. Zaidi, MD, MBA, FACR, Radiology Partners, Washington, D.C.

The RLI Emerging Leader Scholarship recognizes residents or fellows who have made a significant contribution to their institutions and/or the field of radiology while also exhibiting the potential to be future leaders in the field.

The 2023 Emerging Leader Scholarship recipients are:

  • Rachel Grenier, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital Interventional Radiology Integrated Program
  • Gerald Hefferman, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • Russell A. Reeves, MD, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
  • Rebecca Scalabrino, DO, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
  • Michelle Shnayder-Adams, MD, MPH, University of Michigan Interventional Radiology Integrated Program
  • Andrew Sill, MD, College of Medicine Mayo Clinic Arizona
  • Elliot Varney, MD, University of Mississippi Medical Center
  • Ufara Zuwasti, MD, MSc, Newark Beth Israel Medical

“The RLI provides leadership training that can benefit radiologists at every career level,” says William T. Thorwarth Jr., MD, FACR, CEO of ACR. “We want to recognize and support our future leaders and those with a lifetime of significant achievements and contributions that have advanced the field of radiology.”

The RLI, the ACR professional development and leadership program, will recognize the award recipients at the RLI Summit, September 29-October 1, in Boston.