The American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) announces that Philip Costello, MD, the 118th ARRS President and recently named chair of The Roentgen Fund Board of Trustees, has been awarded the 2024 ARRS Gold Medal.

The highest accolade bestowed by ARRS, the ARRS Gold Medal has been honoring illustrious service to radiology for more than four decades. Specifically, the ARRS Gold Medal is awarded to physicians with a substantial record of service and who continue to render distinguished service to both the practice and science of medical imaging and its allied sciences, association officials say.

Gaveled in as ARRS President during the 2018 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, presently, Costello chairs the six vital scholarship programs of ARRS’ own The Roentgen Fund—cementing dual foundations in innovation and leadership for a true diversity of radiology’s next generation.