The American College of Radiology (ACR) Board of Chancellors (BOC) named three gold medalists and two honorary fellowship recipients for their contributions to the practice of radiology and outstanding service to the college. Honorees will be recognized during the ACR 2020 Annual Meeting, which will be held from May 16-20, 2020, in Washington, D.C.

The following individuals will receive the ACR Gold Medal:

  • Albert Blumberg, MD, FACR, is a radiation oncologist who has previously served as ACR president and chair of the Commission on Radiation Oncology, council speaker, BOC member and president of the Maryland Radiological Society.
  • Priscilla (Penny) Butler, MS, FACR, a nationally recognized medical physicist who played an instrumental role in the development of the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA). Additionally, Butler’s extensive work with the FDA and on the development of MQSA led to the prototype of ACR Accreditation and, to this day, ensures high-quality mammography.
  • David Kushner, MD, FACR, former ACR president and chair of the Commission on Membership and Communication, received the ACR Gold Medal in 2019 and will be accepting his gold medal in 2020.

The following recipients will receive honorary fellowships:

  • David Lee Ball, MB, BS, MD, FRANZCR, is a radiation oncologist from Melbourne, Australia. He is recognized as a pioneer in using PET scanning to design treatment protocols for lung cancer, and his work has resulted in international adoption of the “Tumor/Node/Metastasis”  staging classification of chest tumors.
  • Luis Marti Bonmati, MD, is a diagnostic radiologist from Valencia, Spain. Serving as the chair of the Research Committee of the European Society of Radiology and editor-in-chief of Insights into Imaging, Bonmati is a pioneer in MRI imaging, informatics and biomarkers.