The advancement of nuclear medicine isn’t just the province of radiologists. Nuclear medicine technologists also play a key role in improving the field. The Society of Nuclear Medicine’s Technologist Section (SNMTS) recently recognized members’ contributions to the diagnosis and treatment of heart disease, cancer, and neurological conditions.

Norman E. Bolus, CNMT, MPH, the director of the nuclear medicine technology program at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in the School of Health Professions, was named the 2010 SNMTS Outstanding Educator. The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes an SNMTS member whose contributions and knowledge have advanced and promoted the field of nuclear medicine technology through outstanding work in education, which included Bolus’ development of a podcast on thallium stress test protocol to provide SNMTS members with a quick refresher on how to use alternative testing for radionuclides that are not available.

Danny A. Basso, CNMT, NCT, FSNMTS, manager at Cardiac Imaging of Augusta, Augusta, Ga., and chair of the SNMTS Advocacy Committee and a member of the SNM/ACNM Joint Government Relations Committee, was awarded the SNMTS Presidential Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes an SNMTS member who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to the field of nuclear medicine technology.

By demonstrating leadership and making a significant contribution to the technologist profession, several SNMTS members were inducted into the Fellow category. Among the new Fellows are: Royal T. Davis, CNMT, RT(N), FSNMTS, technical director of the nuclear medicine division at Children’s Hospital, Boston; Mark Wallenmeyer, MBA, CNMT, RT(N), FSNMTS, an assistant professor/clinical coordinator for the Nuclear Medicine Imaging Sciences program in the College of Health Related Professions at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock and the 2008-2009 president of SNMTS; Leo A. Nalivaika, MBA, CNMT, RT(N), FSNMTS, the educational coordinator/clinical instructor in the nuclear medicine technology program at Worcester State College, Worcester, Mass., and the senior staff nuclear medicine technologist at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center; Rebecca A. Sajdak, CNMT, RT(N), FSNMTS, a senior staff technologist and computer specialist at Loyola University Medical Center in Maywood, Ill., and a delegate-at-large for the SNMTS National Council of Representatives; and Lisa Ann Trembath, MSM, CNMT, CCRA, NCT, FSNMTS, who most recently served as manager of medical affairs at Cellectar, a radiopharmaceuticals company in Madison, Wis.

Cybil J. Nielsen, MBA, CNMT, the nuclear medicine technology program coordinator for Jefferson Community and Technical College in Louisville, Ky., received the SNMTS President’s Plaque for her service as the 2009-2010 SNMTS president.

Finally The Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology (JNMT) selected three research papers as the "Best Papers for 2009.” First place went to Tezontl Rosario, Michel C. Öllers, Geert Bosmans, Dirk De Ruysscher, Philippe Lambin, and Andre Dekker for their paper “Phased Versus Mid-ventilation Attenuation Corrected Respiration Correlated PET for Patients with Non-small Cell Lung Cancer.” Second place was awarded to  Danny Basso, Gregory Passmore, Michael Holman, Ward Rogers, Leslie Walters, Thomas Zecchin, and Jayme Butler for their paper “Semiqualitative Visual and Quantitative Morphometric Evaluations of Reduced Scan Time and Wide-beam Reconstruction in Rest-gated Stress SPECT Myocardial Perfusion Imaging.” And third place was awarded to Norman E. Bolus, Remo George, Johrnee’ Washington, and Bradley R. Newcomer for their paper “PET/MRI: The Blended-modality Choice of the Future?”


(Source: Press Release)